Data validation and INDIRECT to pull only selected data from a single worksheet onto another

Rob Atron

Hi there,

Background

I'm an indie game developer working on a spreadsheet (Excel 2007) which defines how different ingredients can be mixed in various ways to create different potions.

Source worksheets

Data for each ingredient is included in a separate source worksheet, that I'll call ingredient worksheets. Within these ingredient worksheets, each column defines a different property for the ingredient (e.g. healing, sedative, etc.), with the potency of every property in numerical form in that column. As shown below, these use a slightly unusual layout, because each property has three possible ways of acting: positively (e.g. healing), negatively (e.g. poison), or neutralising (e.g. antidote). At the moment these three property types are included in separate rows, labelled: "pos", "neg" and "neut".

I've simplified the spreadsheets considerably, but the ingredient worksheet looks something like this (e.g. for the ingredient: "Fireweed Seed"):

IngredientstypeHealingSedative
Fireweed Seedpos80
neut
neg

<tbody>
</tbody>

Master worksheet

Apart from the ingredient worksheets, I also have one master worksheet, which is basically a sandbox for testing out different ingredient combinations. As it is at the moment, I can select multiple ingredients to add to this ‘cauldron’ using data validation dropdown menus. I then use INDIRECT to reference the relevant ingredient worksheets and pull the data from those required ingredient worksheets into the master worksheet. The master worksheet then calculates the properties of the resulting potion (not shown below).

The master worksheet (without any calculations) looks something like this:

IngredientstypeHealingSedative
Fireweed Seedpos80
neut
neg
Nonepos
neut
neg
Nonepos
neut
neg

<tbody>
</tbody>