Data Validation in a UserForm

PaulWJ

Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
I'm trying to work out how to ensure the data that's entered into a TextBox on a UserForm is actually in a date format. (dd/mm/yy). I've tried several options (which I'll list) but can't get anything to work, and I've been round a few forums for ideas. I'm self-taught, so what I've done will either have an obvious mistake, be completely wrong or, at best, very messy. I'm open to any options to correct what I've done, or if there is a better way to do it.

The UserForm is called HolidayEntry and it's purpose is to add a date to a particular list (which is selected in a ListBox on the same form)

UserForm.PNG

The dd/mm/yy is shown as I've added this to the Text box on the properties box.

The date gets copied to a cell which I've defined as Input_Date, and the holiday type cell is Input_Type.

Attempt 1 was a Private Sub within the HolidayEntry code. I got no error message, it just seemed to ignore it. If I Called it in the OK Button Private Sub I got an 'Argument not optional' error (Am I supposed to put the Sub somewhere specific????)

vba1.PNG

Second attempt was to write (and by write I mean copy and adapt from a forum post) a separate Sub. First_Day is a defined cell with the date 1/1/2024 in it. Last_day has 31/12/2024 in it.

VAlidate.PNG

Running through this it recognises First_Day and Last_Day, but when it gets to the .Add Type line I get this error message.

error.PNG

I'm open to corrections or suggestions as to a better approach. If anything isn't clear, please let me know and I'll clarify.

Excel Facts

Get help while writing formula
Click the italics "fx" icon to the left of the formula bar to open the Functions Arguments dialog. Help is displayed for each argument.
Your BeforeUpdate code looks fine to me (in so far as you can actually achieve what you want) - how were you testing it?

Upvote 0
Hi PaulWJ.

all , what you entered into textfox is a text...