Date Time Picker control is not working on every system

Sachin2k6

Hi guys
I'm a VBA Developer. I developed some VBA programs (See & download at www.excelapps.webs.com). Some of these programs uses a window control named Windows date-time Picker control. Library of this control is ‘mscomct2.ocx’ default directory for which is c:\windows\system32\ on 32 bit system & c:\windows\syswow64 on 64 bit system.

Problem is that this control is not available on all systems. On most of the system it works after copying its .ocx file to the default directory and then registering it through the command line using Regsvr32 c:\windows\system32\mscomct2.ocx but on some systems (64 bit as well as 32 bit) this registration process failed giving the message ‘The module was loaded but call to DllRegisterServer failed. Error code 0x8002801c.’ In that case control do not work on that system.

I have to find out the reason for this.
Can anyone help me??

Excel Facts

Enter current date or time
Ctrl+: enters current time. Ctrl+; enters current date. Use Ctrl+: Ctrl+; Enter for current date & time.
I don't know why you are getting that registration error, but I'd like to add that I gave up trying to use non-standard controls like this for this exact reason. You'll never be able to plan for all the different types of systems out there, I find it much safer to only use the built in controls. You can actually build your own date picker out of labels and listboxes, and it will work on all systems. I have one I built in a class module that works exactly like the MS one.

Upvote 0