Dynamic cell references

lb6067

I'm new to using VBA in Excel, so my apologies if I am not explaining this well.

I have created a complex spreadsheet with a number of worksheets. I have multiple instances (dozens) of cells that update each other in both directions, i.e. if data is entered in worksheet 1 cell B1, worksheet 2 cell B1 is automatically changed and same in the other direction. All of the references are currently default absolute. I need to make changes to the structure of the worksheets, i.e. add rows and columns, so the cell references will no longer be valid unless i manually change them, which will be a major effort. How can I make the references dynamic? I have read it is possible, but have yet to find a clear explanation of how it can be done. Here is an example of my code from one of my worksheets:
Code:
Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)
Application.ScreenUpdating = False
Application.EnableEvents = False

Select Case Target.Address(0, 0)
    Case "B5" 'First month visitors
        Sheets("Overview").Range("Z4") = Target
        Sheets("CFA - B2B").Range("B179") = Target
        Sheets("Investor Highlight").Range("I10") = Target
    Case "B6" '% MOM growth of visitors
        Sheets("Overview").Range("Z5") = Target
        Sheets("CFA - B2B").Range("B180") = Target
        Sheets("Investor Highlight").Range("G7") = Target
        Sheets("Investor Highlight").Range("I7") = Target
    Case "B7" '% sign up for User ID
        Sheets("Overview").Range("Z6") = Target
        Sheets("CFA - B2B").Range("B181") = Target

End Select

Application.ScreenUpdating = True
Application.EnableEvents = True
End Sub

Thanks in advance for your help!

Last edited by a moderator:

Excel Facts

How to find 2nd largest value in a column?
MAX finds the largest value. =LARGE(A:A,2) will find the second largest. =SMALL(A:A,3) will find the third smallest