EnableCalculation on / off when a sheet is hidden

Dman333

Board Regular
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
I’m pretty new to vba and am have a workbook with 40 tabs that have a lot of calculations. I created a couple of summary sheet for the 40 tabs but it takes a while to calc. I tried to use the code below in the individual worksheets that I want to hide, but got an error.

Private Sub Calc() 'Turns calculation off if hidden
If Worksheets("Sheet61").Visible = False Then
EnableCalculation = False
End If
End Sub

It highlighted the If statement. I’d also like to confirm I’m putting it in the correct place which is the code of the individual worksheets. Lastly, I want to make sure the EnableCalculation would be off if the file is opened and the sheets are hidden. I think it may have to recalc once when it’s opened and that’s OK.

I’m in Windows 10 and Office Pro 2016

Any help is greatly appreciated and thanks in advance.

Cheers!

Excel Facts

Shade all formula cells
To shade all formula cells: Home, Find & Select, Formulas to select all formulas. Then apply a light fill color.
Code:
'At beginning of your macro code :
With Application
        .ScreenUpdating = False
        .DisplayStatusBar = False
        .Calculation = xlCalculationManual
        .EnableEvents = False
    End With

'just before the END SUB statement
With Application
        .ScreenUpdating = True
        .DisplayStatusBar = True
        .Calculation = xlCalculationAutomatic
        .EnableEvents = True
End With

Upvote 0
Thanks a ton for taking the time to respond. I still think it's calculating unless I'm testing it the wrong way. I put a simple circular formula in the sheet I was hiding in manual calc mode. Then hid the sheet and hit F9. I still got the circular reference error which to me means it's still recalculating - unless the circular error is taboo no matter what. Below is the exact code and it's in the sheet code section under general. Any thoughts on how I messed this up?