Energy Star Data

MarkRA

Hi folks, I'm a university student interning in the real estate industry for the summer and am working with some Energy Star (ES) data as one of my assigned projects.

I'm looking to create a macro to prepare data downloaded from ES into a usable format and produce several charts, including year-over-year comparisons of energy and water consumption and greenhouse gas emissions.

The first problem I'm having is generating a region column based on a state name column. I'd like to take the ES-reported state names - which are fully spelled out as such "California" "District of Columbia (D.C.)" etc - and assign them to a particular region of my choosing (New England states + NY, NJ, PA, DE = Northeast) etc.

I was thinking about using a very long nested string function for this, but I'm sure there must be an easier way!

Thanks in advance

Excel Facts

What is =ROMAN(40) in Excel?
The Roman numeral for 40 is XL. Bill "MrExcel" Jelen's 40th book was called MrExcel XL.
welcome to the board

Vlookup is probably your best bet for this. Create a lookup table, then use VLookup to pull the right data in to your data set

Upvote 0
What criteria/logic would you use for this?

Is there data that indicates which state is in which region or is it decided by you?

Upvote 0
I'll be deciding, so arbitrarily deciding PA is Northeast instead of "Mid-Atlantic", etc.

Upvote 0
Mark

Do you just want to make a list of the states in each region, separated in some way eg by a comma?

Upvote 0
What I'm ultimately looking to do by this is to create relevant comparisons for energy expenditure - for example the western states have significantly different weather profiles than the northeastern states and, as such, energy and water consumption measurements between the two aren't relevant.

I'm looking to use this region distinction to ultimately create charts detailing year over year comparisons, by region.

Upvote 0