Excel VBA - Range variable

Davew01

I am fairly new to Excel macro programming and need some help. I am trying to set up a variable as an object type to store a range. I know the following works

Dim rMyCell As Range
Set rMyCell = Range("A1")
rMyCell = rMyCell + Range("a2")
where as rMyCell will = the contents of cell A1 which I then add to cell A2.

What I would like to do is set the range to the activecell in the spreadsheet.
I tried to code below by I get an error.

Dim rMyCell As Range
Set rMyCell = ActiveCell.Select

I also tried this and still get an error.

Set rMyCell = Worksheets("Notes").ActiveCell.Select

Excel Facts

Can you AutoAverage in Excel?
There is a drop-down next to the AutoSum symbol. Open the drop-down to choose AVERAGE, COUNT, MAX, or MIN
Hi Dave, welcome to the board!

You're so very close with your syntax. It should be...

Code:
Dim rngMyCell as Range
Set rngMyCell = Sheets("Notes").Range("A1")
rngMyCell.Value = rngMyCell.value + sheets("Notes").Range("A2").Value

I would advise against using the Activecell unless you really have to (which generally is not the case). The same goes with Selecting and/or Activating a cell or worksheet in Excel. As long as you explicitly define where the range is (worksheet, workbook), then you should be good.

HTH

Upvote 0
Excel Questions

Thanks for the feedback. I will give it a try this evening.

BTW - You indicated that you would "advise against using the Activecell unless you really have to (which generally is not the case). The same goes with Selecting and/or Activating a cell or worksheet in Excel."

For my future knowledge what is the downside of using Activecell.select and Activating a cell, speed or performance issues?

Upvote 0
Re: Excel Questions

Thanks for the feedback. I will give it a try this evening.