Find a word in a cell and fill in another cell.

viggie79

I have a sheet with a column that will contain 1 of 3 words sales, spot, demo. I want to search through this column and depending on which word I find enter another value in another cell.

I'm using a do while loop to go down through the cell I want to write in, and searching the column 3 back by offsetting. ( I understand this is not ideal but my sheets aren't that big and I can't make sense of some of the more efficient methods for searching because I am just starting out and don't really understand this language at all.)

This is what I have so far.

Code:
Range("G2").Select    Do Until Selection.Offset(0, -6).Value = ""
        If Selection.Offset(0, -3).Value = "move" Then
        Selection.Value = "mover
        ElseIf Selection.Offset(0,-3).Value= "demo" Then
        Selection.Value = "demo"
        Else 
        Selection.Value="sale""

This kind of worked at first. If the cell had the word 'move' by itself it would find it. I tried using *, that didnt work. I tried changing .value to .find but it wouldnt let me do that. I also don't understand why it wont accept 'elseif'. (it highlights it in red) All the Q&As Ive found have been either way too basic and I cant apply the offsets or get 'then' to do anything, or they are using some other method and syntax that I can't figure out.

Excel Facts

Add Bullets to Range
Select range. Press Ctrl+1. On Number tab, choose Custom. Type Alt+7 then space then @ sign (using 7 on numeric keypad)
I may be totally misunderstanding, so if that is the case, I'm sorry.

But... Assuming your column containing your 3 words was column A, and you wanted your new values to end up on the same row in another column (say G), then could you use something like this as the formula in G2?

Code:
=IF(A2="move","mover",IF(A2="demo",A2,IF(A2="sale",A2,"")))

Then you could just drag that formula down the row.

Would that work for you?

Upvote 0