first time using a formula in new MS Office program

tuktuk

Well-known Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
856
hey there,

i am attempting to do a vlookup on a MS excel program that is completely new and never used formuls.

as i type in "=vlookup(B2,PO,2,False)" nothging happens, that is it doesn't try to figure out the equation. it acts as if the formula is text within the cell.

any ideas.

T
 

Excel Facts

Why are there 1,048,576 rows in Excel?
The Excel team increased the size of the grid in 2007. There are 2^20 rows and 2^14 columns for a total of 17 billion cells.

VoG

Legend
Joined
Jun 19, 2002
Messages
63,650
Tools > Options > Calculation tab. make sure automatic calculation is enabled.
 

tuktuk

Well-known Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
856
i even gone so far to test with a simplier formula.....

in cell D2 i typed "=C2" and the result in the cell is "=C2"

i am perplexed
 

tuktuk

Well-known Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
856
hmmmmmm everyday you learn more.....i formated the cells to "General" and it now calculated the formula. i guess it was reading it as text.

thanks
 

tuktuk

Well-known Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
856
ONE QUESTION NOW THOUGH.......strange thing

i am trying to copy the "=vlookup(A2,po,2,fasle) down to the last active row BUT it appears to only returns the value of the active cell that i copy form EVEN THOUGH the formula in a few rows down appears to be correct.

for example, the results for the vlookup in row2 is 18987. then i drag this formula to the last row (R180). all of the cells from row 3 to row 180 return a value of 18987 BUT THE FORMULAS are correct...........that is "=vlookup(A3,po,2,false)" for row3,"=vlookup(A4,po,2,false)" for row4,"=vlookup(A5,po,2,false)" for row5, etc.

any ideas?
 

marka87uk

Board Regular
Joined
Mar 24, 2007
Messages
247
Make sure automatic calculation is checked again! Press F9 to see if it'll update. :)
 

tuktuk

Well-known Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
856
yeah buddy......within test i changed calcs to manual.......after changing it back to AUTO solved my issues.

THANKS tuktuk
 

Forum statistics

Threads
1,181,102
Messages
5,928,062
Members
436,586
Latest member
latintxn

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top