Help entering a formula containing variables

asmith4035

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
I am new to VBA but working hard to learn
I used 2 InputBoxes to get 2 variables, Rows2Insert and InsertAfter. I want to use these variables in a relative formula in an active cell. My attempt, that doesn't work is:
ActiveCell.FormulaR1C1 = "=IF(RC[1]>=insertafter,RC[1]+Rows2Insert,RC[1])"
This is what goes into the cell
=IF(CQ3>=@insertafter,CQ3+@Rows2Insert,CQ3)
Thanks, alan

Excel Facts

Pivot Table Drill Down
Double-click any number in a pivot table to create a new report showing all detail rows that make up that number
Hi, While waiting for other experts, I will share my thought here

It would be good if you can share your case by posting a screenshot by install an add in (xlbb) in your excel
  • Want to help your helpers by posting a small, copyable, screen shot directly in your post? XL2BB Instructions & Download (latest January 2021 v 2.0 )

Book1
ABC
2aa24
Sheet1

VBA Code:
Sub test()
Dim rows2insert, InsertAfter As Integer

rows2insert = InputBox("input rows2insert")
InsertAfter = InputBox("Input InsertAfter")

If ActiveCell.Value >= InsertAfter Then
    ActiveCell.Offset(0, 1) = ActiveCell.Value + rows2insert 'If active cell = b2 then result will be in c2 - Offset row 0 column 1 = C2 
Else
    ActiveCell.Offset(0, 1) = ActiveCell.Value
End If

End Sub

Last edited:
Upvote 0
Book1
ABC
1Rows2Insert2
2InsertAfter2
4ActiveCell Formula
Sheet2
Cell Formulas
RangeFormula
B5:B6B5=IF(A5>=$B$2,A5+$B$1,A5)

VBA Code:
Sub test()

rows2insert = [b1].Value
InsertAfter = [b2].Value

For Each ss In Range("a5:a" & Cells(Rows.Count, "A").End(xlUp).Row)
        If ss.Value >= InsertAfter Then
            ss.Offset(0, 2).Value = ss.Value + InsertAfter
        Else
            ss.Offset(0, 2).Value = ss.Value
        End If

Next ss
End Sub

this one is dynamic loop version, it will start checking starting from a5 into last row

Upvote 0