Help with DAX formulas and poorly collected data

doitypeithere

Thanks for clicking! I've searched the forum for similar issues and came up with nada. A few posts are close and I feel like this problems should be solvable, but I've been banging my head against a wall for three days on this and (surprise!) I'm getting quite frustrated with Powerpivot. I've been using PP off and on for the last two years and have about a dozen successful, albeit simple, reporting projects under my belt. I'm no expert by any means, but I feel like I at least have a clue with what I'm about :). After this week, I'm not so sure anymore.

The situation
I'm working on a reporting project that pulls customer data from an external solution I cannot change. I'm crunching the data in Excel/PowerPivot 2013. In my external source, the data is being collected as rows with the following relevant columns:

[Program Name] - [Program Start Date] - [Program End Date] - [Total $ Spent on Program]

My task is to break the [Total $$$ Spend on Program] field into a [Daily $ Spent on Program] number and then roll it up into fiscal quarters and fiscal years.

The somewhat successful solution
  • I have a typical 'Dates' table with fiscal quarters and fiscal years and a relationship created between the [Program Start Date] and the [Date Key].
  • I've written calculated columns that use my 'Dates' table to count the applicable rows between [Program Start Date] and [Program End Date] and divides the [Total $ Spent on Program] by that calculated number of days to get a [Daily $ Spent on Program] value. Then more calculated columns that multiply the [Daily $ Spend on Program] by a count of days in the program that occur in each fiscal quarter and year.

The calculated columns & formulas look something like this:

[Program Duration] = calculate(countrows('Dates'), datesbetween('dates'[DateKey],[Program Start Date], [Program End Date]))
[Daily $ Spend on Program] = [Total $ Spent on Program]/[Program Duration]