Help with Index and Match

pkohli

Board Regular
Joined
Aug 2, 2005
Messages
71
Hi All,

I need to know, if it is possible to match the data in 2 different sheet and return the value?

I have name of OS in sheet 1 and details about their support in MS and IBM sheet.

I need to check is in A1 in sheet1 matches B2 in MS or IBM then return the value of 4th column.

It would be great help if you can reply back.

Thanks!
 

Excel Facts

How can you turn a range sideways?
Copy the range. Select a blank cell. Right-click, Paste Special, then choose Transpose.

pkohli

Board Regular
Joined
Aug 2, 2005
Messages
71
Can't be possible because data in both the sheets are different.

One sheet has microsoft OS info other has IBM os information.
 
Upvote 0

Jonmo1

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Oct 12, 2006
Messages
44,061
Is there any identifying factor on the Sheet1 to determine if it's found on the MS or IBM Sheet?

Like does the text in Sheet1A1 (or an adjescent column) contain MS or IBM?
 
Upvote 0

Stormseed

Banned
Joined
Sep 18, 2006
Messages
3,274
Is there any identifying factor on the Sheet1 to determine if it's found on the MS or IBM Sheet?

I guess, the name of the OS in sheet 1 (column A) is the common factor in all of these sheets.

Like does the text in Sheet1A1 (or an adjescent column) contain MS or IBM?

A1 would contain the name of the OS like "Solaris", "Windows", "Unix" in range B:B of these sheets, namely, MS and IBM.

If this is the case, I do have a UDF, but this function would only return the first match it encounters across all worksheets:

Code:
Function VLOOKAllSheets(Look_Value As Variant, Tble_Array As Range, _
                          Col_num as Integer, Optional Range_look as Boolean)

Dim wSheet As Worksheet
Dim vFound

On Error Resume Next

	For Each wSheet In ActiveWorkbook.Worksheets
		With wSheet
		Set Tble_Array = .Range(Tble_Array.Address)
			vFound = WorksheetFunction.VLookup _
			(Look_Value, Tble_Array, _
			Col_num, Range_look)
		End With
		If Not IsEmpty(vFound) Then Exit For
	Next wSheet

	Set Tble_Array = Nothing
	VLOOKAllSheets = vFound
End Function
 
Last edited:
Upvote 0

pkohli

Board Regular
Joined
Aug 2, 2005
Messages
71
It is like this:

In sheet 1 in column A, I have data

Windows Server 2003, Enterprise Edition (32-bit x86)
Windows Server 2003, Standard Edition (32-bit x86)
AIX 4.1
AIX 4.2

This data needs to be looked up in sheet MS & IBM column A, if it matches then it should return the value of column B of the respective sheet.
 
Upvote 0

Jonmo1

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Oct 12, 2006
Messages
44,061
Well, since it's only 2 sheets you want to look in, Suppose you could do it like this...

=VLOOKUP(A1,IF(ISNUMBER(MATCH(A1,MS!A:A,0)),MS!A:B,IBM!A:B),2,FALSE)

Hope this helps..
 
Upvote 0

Stormseed

Banned
Joined
Sep 18, 2006
Messages
3,274
Pkohli,

You can also use the above posted UDF to your advantage in addition to Jonmo's resolution. Incase you want to lookup on multiple worksheets (more than two sheets) or should you have been looking forward for a VBA resolution.

the formula to use the UDF would be:

=VLOOKAllSheets("Windows Server 2003, Enterprise Edition (32-bit x86)",A1:B1000,2,FALSE)
 
Upvote 0

Forum statistics

Threads
1,191,191
Messages
5,985,204
Members
439,947
Latest member
fabiannic

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top