Hours Calculations - Time left to go

HAWM

Office Version
  1. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi All,

Currently working on a small project to calculate hours left on a project, which I'm finding hours a new struggle to work with in honesty. I'm an accountant and I like normal numbers!

The aim of the file is to plan project completion times - I've already built in to be affected by breaks.

So to use this we will go down and say today we are working on project 123 today and we know they take 16 hours to complete, so given the breaks when should we expect this to finish when? We will be going in to manually tell it the day we are working on and the project and subsequently it could be a few days gap before we come back to it if we don't finish it that day.

So what I'm looking for is when I get to the next day, how to I get it to check for the previous hours worked against this project 123 and tell me how many hours are left that I'll need to plan in for the next available day.

Any help would be fantastic - I've wasted enough hours on this already!

Thanks in Advance!

Attachments

• Excel.png
    Excel.png
    13.6 KB · Views: 11

Excel Facts

Excel Wisdom
Using a mouse in Excel is the work equivalent of wearing a lanyard when you first get to college
I'm an accountant and I like normal numbers!
Times are normal numbers, they just look different. For the purpose of formula calculations 12 hours = 0.5 days

Where is the initial total time coming from? Assuming that it is the result or a lookup to another table, something like this entered into Q2 and filled down should do the trick.

=IFERROR(AGGREGATE(15,6,T$1:T1/(D$1:D1=D2),1),lookup)

Upvote 0
Hi Jason,