How do you find a macro that does not want to be found?

les_austin

New Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2002
Messages
10
Hi all,

I inherited a excel spreadsheet that contained two macros. One a simple printing macro, no worries there. Another was run by ‘CTRL & C’, the function was to lookup a defined month (e.g. user enters 6 for June) move to the section of the month in question, copy the data in that section and place it into a current month area. A report was generete off the current month information. Hope this explains. The problem is the macro never appeared in tools/macro/macros option. But it worked fine. Since moving to Excel 2000 the ‘CTRL C’ fails to work.
Firstly, does any one know where I would find the macro and its code?
Secondly, why does the macro not run in Excel 2000?
Thirdly, If all fails is there much involved in rewriting the macro, any suggestions

I am sorry my first post is so long winded, but this has me stumped.
My regards to all
 

Excel Facts

Format cells as time
Select range and press Ctrl+Shift+2 to format cells as time. (Shift 2 is the @ sign).

les_austin

New Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2002
Messages
10
Further more I found this code in the sheet. It may help you guys.
Macros
57

copymnth - Copies data to current Month
{paneloff}{windowsoff} -Goto January data
/wgpd
/rucj17..co108~
{goto}D17~
{for counter,1,((C6-1)*7),1,right} - Moveto required month
/c{r 5}{D 91}~cj17~ - Copy data to Current Month
/wgpe
{Home}{windowson}{panelon}

35339.46998 35339.42539 right - called from copymnth
35339.47024 35339.42568 {right}
35355.67251
35355.6728
 

les_austin

New Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2002
Messages
10
Another thing the workbook is protected and the password is gone. However the goal is tpget the macro or an new macro running, not unlock the sheet.
 

kskinne

Well-known Member
Joined
Feb 17, 2002
Messages
1,267
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
hello and welcome to the board

not sure, but the macro you posted looks more like a lotus macro, which would explain why it will not run in excel 2000

you can find out if there are any 'hidden' macros in your workbook that aren't appearing in the macro list through the tool menu by doing this:

1. right-click on the excel icon directly to the left of the word 'file' on the menu bar, and select 'view code'. this will open up the visual basic editor.

2. on the left of the screen you should see something that looks like a directory tree. this is your current vba project. within this project you will see 'this workbook' as well as any sheets that your workbook contains, and any modules your workbook contains.
3. double-click on each one of these to open up its code window. if there is any code that you want to delete, simply highlight the code and press the delete button.
4. if you delete all the code out of any existing modules, or if the workbook contains empty modules, you can remove the module(s) by right clicking on them, selecting remove module, and choosing no when prompted to export the module before removing it.

hth
kevin
 

lbass

Board Regular
Joined
Aug 15, 2002
Messages
104

ADVERTISEMENT

[No message]
 

lbass

Board Regular
Joined
Aug 15, 2002
Messages
104
Sorry about that.
Lotus translation -
copymnth - Copies data to current Month
TITLE
{paneloff}{windowsoff} -Goto January data
TURNS OFF SCREEN AND PANEL - NOTE
/wgpd
WORKSHEET GLOBAL PROTECTION DISABLE
/rucj17..co108~
RANGE UNPROTECT CJ17 TO CO108
{goto}D17~
MOVES CELLPOINTER TO D17
{for counter,1,((C6-1)*7),1,right} - Moveto required month
MOVES THE CELLPOINTER BASED ON CONTENTS OF C6
/c{r 5}{D 91}~cj17~ - Copy data to Current
Month
FROM WHERE THE CELLPOINTER ENDS UP COPIES
THE RANGE FROM THERE RIGHT 5 CELLS AND DOWN
91 ROWS TO CJ17
/wgpe
RE ENABLES GLOBAL PROTECTION
{Home}{windowson}{panelon}
TURNS PANEL AND SCREEN BACK ON

Now maybe some one who knows VBA can help???

Oh I'm not yelling just too dumb to know how
to change the color or form of the text.
 

lbass

Board Regular
Joined
Aug 15, 2002
Messages
104
Oh! if you have a range named C
it will be the first part of your macro.
 

kskinne

Well-known Member
Joined
Feb 17, 2002
Messages
1,267
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
i would try posting this piece of lotus code in the XLM & Lotus 1-2-3 Macro Languages forum and see if someone there can translate it into VBA, that's the only way you are going to get this to work in Excel 2000.

kevin
 

Forum statistics

Threads
1,144,274
Messages
5,723,447
Members
422,497
Latest member
dougy99

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top