How To Auto Subtract From QTY Cell When Populating Another Cell

LostInCodeLand

Hello!

I'm a self-taught Excel novice trying to create an inventory system, and would greatly appreciate any help from The Masters :)

I'm using Excel 2007 to create the system for an Auto Shop, which stores many multiples of the same part/s but quickly depletes stock. Basically, I'd like to be able to scan my barcode/s every time an item is removed from the shelf and have the "Current Quantity" cell (in the same row on my worksheet) reduced by one (1).

I've got my barcode scanner populating Cell G (with the barcoded part info), but I can't figure out a formula that will auto reduce Cell F (current qty) by a count of 1 when G is populated.

I've been doing my best to research on my own, but I'm afraid my novice-ness is keeping me from recognizing the answer. If anyone could point me in the right direction, I'd very much appreciate the help. Thank you! :)

Excel Facts

How to create a cell-sized chart?
Tiny charts, called Sparklines, were added to Excel 2010. Look for Sparklines on the Insert tab.
Hello!

G is a column, not a cell. Which cell is populated by the barcode scanner? F is a column also. Which cell needs to be reduced by 1 when the barcode scanner populates the cell?

Upvote 0
If you want to try worksheet event code, the code below will do what you want, plus it will notify you if there is insufficient stock on record for the issue being made.

Code:
Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)
If Target.Cells.Count > 1 Then Exit Sub
Application.EnableEvents = False
    If Not Intersect(Target, Range("G:G")) Is Nothing Then
        If Target <> "" And Target.Offset(, -1) > 0 Then
            Target.Offset(, -1) = Target.Offset(, -1).Value - 1
        Else
            Beep
            MsgBox "Error"
        End If
    End If
Application.EnableEvents = True
End Sub