How to make a barchart of only non-zero elements, names alig

ylijohe

Board Regular
Joined
Sep 6, 2002
Messages
58
I have this kinda lists, and I wish to make a chart of only those which differ from zero, how to proceed?

0,00 % Aspocomp Group Oyj
1,14 % Comptel Oyj
-4,00 % Eimo Oyj
3,09 % Elcoteq Network Oyj A
0,00 % Elektrobit Group Oyj
-1,36 % Elisa Communications Oyj A
0,00 % Evox Rifa Group Oyj
0,00 % F-Secure Oyj
-0,33 % Instrumentarium Oyj
0,16 % Nokia Oyj
0,00 % Okmetic Oyj
0,00 % Perlos Oyj
0,00 % PKC Group Oyj
0,00 % PMJ automec Oyj
-0,24 % Sonera Oyj
0,00 % SSH Communications Securi.
0,00 % Stonesoft Oyj
0,00 % Sysopen Oyj
0,00 % Tecnomen Oyj
0,00 % Tekla Oyj
-0,41 % Teleste Oyj
0,00 % TJ Group Oyj
0,00 % Vacon Oyj
-0,26 % Vaisala Oyj A
0,00 % Wecan Electronics Oyj
0,00 % Yomi Oyj
 

Some videos you may like

Excel Facts

Ambidextrous Undo
Undo last command with Ctrl+Z or Alt+Backspace. If you use the Undo icon in the QAT, open the drop-down arrow to undo up to 100 steps.

zzydhf

Board Regular
Joined
Apr 10, 2002
Messages
236
You could make the chart and run an autofilter on the data, selecting "does not equal zero" for the custom criteria on the % field. The chart will only display the values not hidden.
 

zzydhf

Board Regular
Joined
Apr 10, 2002
Messages
236
You could make the chart and run an autofilter on the data, selecting "does not equal zero" for the custom criteria on the % field. The chart will only display the values not hidden.
 

ylijohe

Board Regular
Joined
Sep 6, 2002
Messages
58
Thanks, works fine.....except I want the names to match the bars, how is that done?

There is no names visible...can I add the names to the chart somehow?
 

zzydhf

Board Regular
Joined
Apr 10, 2002
Messages
236

ADVERTISEMENT

right click on the chart, choose "source data" and on the "series" tab click in the box for "category (x) axis labels". then highlight the cells in the worksheet you want to show up as the labels. click OK
 

ylijohe

Board Regular
Joined
Sep 6, 2002
Messages
58
SIGH...I´m going nuts!

What I am trying to do is a chart where is
bar and the name for the bar, side by side...

0,46 % Nordea AB FDR
1,01 % OKO Osuuspankkien Keskusp.
-2,81 % Sampo Oyj A
-1,14 % Finnair Oyj
-0,46 % Kesko Oyj B
-0,25 % Tietoenator Oyj
2,41 % Fiskars Oyj Abp A
-1,12 % KCI Konecranes Internatio.
-0,32 % Kone Oyj B
0,45 % Metso Oyj
-0,47 % Outokumpu Oyj
-1,93 % Rautaruukki Oyj K
-0,21 % Wärtsilä Oyj Abp B
0,09 % Stora Enso Oyj R
0,34 % UPM-Kymmene Oyj
0,34 % Fortum Oyj
3,26 % Elcoteq Network Oyj A
-0,78 % Elisa Communications Oyj A
 

Andrew Poulsom

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Jul 21, 2002
Messages
73,092
I assume you are using a Bar chart.

Right click the chart and choose Source Data. Make sure that:

1. The Data Range is blank.
2. Series1 is using your first column.
3. The x axis labels are using column 2.

Right click the x Axis and choose Format Axis. On the Patterns tab choose Tick Mark Labels Low. Your labels will be on the left of the chart.
 

Watch MrExcel Video

Forum statistics

Threads
1,122,518
Messages
5,596,630
Members
414,082
Latest member
sasmita

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top