How to organize my VBA code

nelson41412

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hello,

I'm entirely self taught and I like to say that I'm starting to get "dangerous" with my abilities. However, I don't have a mentor and no one at my company does similar work in Microsoft VBA's so I might be committing some coding crimes. I'm looking for tips on how to organize code, how to organize modules, what should be global vs. private, when does it make sense to create a new sub and call programs vs just a big sub, etc. Any references or suggestions would be very helpful!

For an idea of my level of capability, I'm working on a one click/point of entry solution that will create a set of data for an entry based on existing formulas, add that set of data to an excel database, then run a mail merge in a word file for a particular 'address', then save the printed file to a set location.

Excel Facts

How to fill five years of quarters?
Type 1Q-2023 in a cell. Grab the fill handle and drag down or right. After 4Q-2023, Excel will jump to 1Q-2024. Dash can be any character.
Organize is sort of a loose term I think, and what works for you might not be attractive to someone else. You posted this in "other applications" so not sure if you had any other app specifically in mind. The majority of my vba is in Access. I tend to group procedures into modules and use module names that describe the intent (e.g. mdlUserFunctions, mdlDbFunctions and the like) although sometimes the purpose of procedure would fit in more than one place.