How to transfer data from one cell to columns when there is no delimiter?

jasmin_oe

Hey there,

I got a major problem with my dataset (500+ rows) and since I am not an Excel Pro and couldn't find answers on the internet I am posting my first ever question online:

Okay here is the issue, I want to put every number of this column in another cell, like I did it for the first two rows:

View image: excel problem

Normally it would easily work with the Text to Column function but since I have no delimiter I am completely swamped.
Is there a way to solve this problem with a function?

Otherwise, if this is impossible, maybe there is a quick way to insert commas or spaces between each number so that I could use the Text to Column function?

I would appreciate any feedback!
Thanks for your time!

Best,
Jasmin

Excel Facts

Repeat Last Command
Pressing F4 adds dollar signs when editing a formula. When not editing, F4 repeats last command.
Put this formula in cell B1: =MID($A1,1,1) Copy it across to column O and then increase the "1" in the middle by 1 in each column. For example: in C1: =MID($A1,2,1), in D1: =MID($A1,3,1), etc. Then highlight all the cells from B1 to O1 and drag the formulas down to your last used row. It's a little tedious but it works. There may be a better way.

Upvote 0
Hi

Assuming the big numbers are in column 1, starting row 1. In B1 enter:

=--MID($A1;COLUMN()-1,1)

Then copy right and down as necessary.The -- at the beginning coerce the extracted character to its numerical value

Regards
XLearner

Upvote 0
Hi *jasmin_oe, welcome to the Forum.
As an alternative to formulas, you can use a macro.