Identify AND Tally Number of Instances over Multiple Rows and Columns: Due Tomorrow! Help!

GoF40

Hello... I have a spreadsheet of nearly 100,000 rows of data for work, from two spreadsheets combined into one. I'm new to Excel, but enjoy using it, not TOO incompetent - I've figured out how to answer most of my questions and have learned some great new formulas. But I'm stuck, and need an answer to a complex one! I have a feeling I'm making it more complicated than I am, so forgive the length of this. I don't know how to really explain it, but I'll try.

See below - I have three tables, and the info I need is from Table 3. I'm changing the facts slightly to protect my job, but the substance is the same. (I don't really work for Major League Baseball:))

Table 1: (5 Columns), A: Last Name, B: First Name, C: Middle Name, D: Shirt Number (#s), and E: Triple A team played for (a Triple A team will only ever be one of two teams: A12 or B12)

Table 2: (5 Columns), A: Last Name, B: First Name, C: Middle Name, D: Shirt Number (all #s), and E: Just shows that a Triple A player from Table 1 actually went pro with a single digit, "X" and it doesn't change

Table 3:(5 Columns) a single table comprised of all data from Table 1 and Table 2, and the table from which I have to get my answers. I can't get my answers from Table 1 or Table 2 individually, because I have to identify the commonalities between the two tables combined.

The Question I have to answer: I am identifying individuals, that is - from Table 3, how many players from Triple A (Table 1) actually went Pro (Table 2)?