Identifying and highlighting non-matching text across 2 columns

Ali_G999

Hope you can help a first time poster (self taught at Excel).

I am working in Excel 2007 and have data in 2 columns (approx. 70000 rows) which contains details of 500 current & historical: Employee No., Role, Name & Office
I have cleansed, trimmed and matched so I know which rows do not match. However I need to be able to highlight the exact text which doesn't match ideally in bold and colour. For e.g. all text matches except Office which I can then record in a further column.

Is there a way to do this?

I cannot use text to columns as it would be extremely time consuming and the formatting of the names whilst consistent across the columns includes forenames, middle names, surnames including Mc, McRae, Mac Rae, Mc Rae would invovle a lot of reformatting/concatenation etc of the new columns.

I have a feeling that I need a formula to use in conjunction with conditional formatting but I have looked everywhere and can't see a formula I could use.

This is my last hope of trying to get it sorted :(

Last edited:

Excel Facts

Control Word Wrap
Press Alt+Enter to move to a new row in a cell. Lets you control where the words wrap.
Welcome to the forum

Can we have SAMPLE data showing how the data is now and what your expected RESULT should look like?

Upvote 0
Apologies but I cant see how to attach a file? I've tried to screenshot an example data set it but it won't let me attach as its not an image

Upvote 0
Apologies but I cant see how to attach a file? I've tried to screenshot an example data set it but it won't let me attach as its not an image
unfortunately, you cant attach files here. What you can do though is to upload it to dropbox or google docs and paste a link here for whoever needs to access, making sure you modify the access rights appropriately

Upvote 0