IF Cell G2=Payment and Cell H2 equals what is in another sheets range (A1-A41) then I2+J2 otherwise 0.00 Need for Payment, Overpayment, Credit and Re

DennisYoung

Office Version
  1. 2021
  2. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
I am very new to formula's so please be kind.

I am doing a formula for Credit Card types and if it is a Payment or Overpayment or Credit or Return then add cells I2 (PaymentAmnt) and J2 (Subtotal) to cell R2

I have tried =IF(OR(EXACT(G2="Payment",H2=CCardTypes!$A$1:$A$41)),I2+J2,"0.00") and it gives me data but when I add the second nest =IF(OR(EXACT(G2="Payment",H2=CCardTypes!$A$1:$A$41)),I2+J2,IF(OR(EXACT(G2="Overpayment",H2=CCardTypes!$A$1:$A$41)),I2+J2,"0.00")) it puts amounts into all the cells even if it is not on the Credit Card list

1656433573946.png

1656433644452.png

Excel Facts

How can you automate Excel?
Press Alt+F11 from Windows Excel to open the Visual Basic for Applications (VBA) editor.
To start, your syntax for EXACT is not correct. EXACT takes two text arguments, and returns TRUE if they are exactly the same. I do not know what you are intending when you use it like this:

Excel Formula:
EXACT(G2="Payment",H2=CCardTypes!$A$1:$A$41)

Let's get that cleared up first then see if there are other problems.

Upvote 0
Like I said I am very new to formulas in general. I have no clue what I am doing which is why I am here.

So, lets go with what I need

If G2 equals payment and H2 equals anything in the Credit Card list I need to Add I2 and J2 and put in R2
If G2 equals overpayment and H2 equals anything in the Credit Card list I need to Add I2 and J2 and put in R2
If G2 equals credit and H2 equals anything in the Credit Card list I need to Add I2 and J2 and put in R2
If G2 equals return and H2 equals anything in the Credit Card list I need to Add I2 and J2 and put in R2
otherwise 0.00 in R2

Not sure what you mean clear that up, all I know when I put in EXACT I do get some data without it not so much

Upvote 0