Indirect Function with a separate Workbook

AntMac

Board Regular
This seems simple which makes it that much more frustrating. I'm trying to do a simple use case of the Indirect function to pull a value from another workbook. I understand all the restrictions about the book needing to be open and because of that I have it open. I'm not sure what's making it not work. My use case is I have a master file which tells me each row of data could be in one of 7 files. And where in the file is the data for that row's information. So, I have formulas to find the file name (column D), sheet name (Column E), and cell (Column H - I even have G and F to get the column and row individually if that would help). I put in the indirect formula as =INDIRECT("'["&D2&"]"&E2&"'!"&H2) and I get error messages. Based on my troubleshooting up to this point the problem seems to be the workbook or the worksheet name. (I've come to this conclustion because when I hard code it and change the cell to H2 it works. When I change either the file name or worksheet I get the #ref error. Both the workbook and worksheet have a space in them. Which might be pointless information. But it might be helpful to the problem.

I'm at a loss.

Excel Facts

Repeat Last Command
Pressing F4 adds dollar signs when editing a formula. When not editing, F4 repeats last command.
I'm guessing that a direct link would contain single quotes ... you don't seem to have any. Show the direct link version of the formula you've shown.

Upvote 0
I'm guessing that a direct link would contain single quotes ... you don't seem to have any. Show the direct link version of the formula you've shown.
Sorry for the delay. I see the quotes in there, but maybe because they are adjacent to double quotes is the problem. However when the source file is closed, this is how the "formula" looks.

='https://sharepoint.com/blah/[North America Data.xlsx]USA 2023'!$L100

The way I have my data:
D2 has North America Data
E2 has USA 2023
F2 has L100