inserting a new row using Worksheet_SelectionChange()

Martin Perera

Board Regular
Hi Guys

I am rather new to dealing with Macro's and VBA

I have a problem which I hope you could help me with.

I am building a balance sheet, with a set number of spaces for entrys. The aim is to set a macro or function sub whatever that fires when the last entry is entered. the macro will then insert a new row for the next entry.

I have managed to get the code to insert the required row by using a range("NewRow") reference, ie naming a cell in the spreadsheet. Unfortunetly it can only fire the once as the new row leaves the reference behind.

what I need is a way of promoting the named cell with the code so that EVERY time the user gets to the last row the macro fires

Code:
Private Sub Worksheet_SelectionChange(ByVal Target As Excel.Range) 
    If Intersect(Range("NewRow"), Target) Is Nothing Then Exit Sub 'if nowt there do nothing

'NewRow is the named cell, where once changed the new row needs to go

If IsEmpty(Range("NewRow")) Then Exit Sub 'on change insert row

Application.EnableEvents = False 

Range("NewRow").Offset(rowOffset:=1, columnOffset:=0).Select 

'offset because otherwise the data entered had a new row inserted above it

Selection.EntireRow.insert 
    Range("NewRow").Offset(rowOffset:=1, columnOffset:=0).Select 
    Application.EnableEvents = True 
End Sub

hope this is clear

probably going about this all wrong :oops:

(y) Martin

Excel Facts

Create a Pivot Table on a Map
If your data has zip codes, postal codes, or city names, select the data and use Insert, 3D Map. (Found to right of chart icons).
I'm a bit confused as to why you need to insert rows. Why not just add a row at the end of all your current data? Can you give us a clearer picture of how your data is laid out, and what you happen when a new entry is needed, and where that information will go? Thanks!

Upvote 0
As to Y