Is learning VBA my best route to run statistics from U.S. census data?

eberns

I am doing a research project using downloadable U.S. Census data.

So far I’ve been able to rely primarily on Excel. I am about to start a more complicated analysis, concerning childcare options used by parents. Census has suggested I need statistical software, maybe to learn R, which I understand has a pretty steep learning curve.

I want to describe what I need below and ask advice as to whether I can accomplish it with Excel formulas, whether learning VBA would be a good route to go here. I’ve got no experience with VBA either at this point.

Here is a much simplified spreadsheet showing data for two households:

Excel 2007
ABCDEFGHIJK
1Household IDPersonIDSexAgePerson weightPerson ID youngest childPaid care youngest childPerson ID 2nd youngest childPaid care 2nd youngest childPerson ID motherEmployed
235678101135245.67-1-1-1-199991
43567810328314.53-1-1-1-11022
53567810423256.98-1-1-1-11022
645962101224236.81022-1-199992
74596210211302.56-1-1-1-11012

<tbody>
</tbody>
Sheet1

I am interested in percentage of children in various childcare arrangements. The census associates the data as to childcare with a parent’s record (at this point it appears to me that in a two-parent household they associate the childcare data with the mother’s record, not with both mother and father, so as to avoid duplication). But I need to tag onto the parent’s record certain data about the children, specifically the “person weight” associated with each child.

I did something similar earlier that was much easier, with married couples where I had one row for each spouse. Since there were always two rows for each couple, I could easily tag information, for example, about husband’s employment status onto the wife’s row.