Is there a better way tro reference a different row in a table?

JenniferMurphy

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Columns J & K in this table need to reference the cell in the row above the one making the reference. This is the code that Excel generated. It seems to work, but the cell references do not look like the other table expressions. I would think this would come up all the time as in my example for calculating cumulative values. But I couldn't find anything in the Excel help about it. Is there another, better way to do this?

Wages by Profession.xlsx
GHIJK
3#TopRateWidthCum Tax
40$00.00%--$0
51$10,00010.00%$10,000$1,000
62$40,00012.00%$30,000$4,600
73$86,00022.00%$46,000$14,720
84$165,00024.00%$79,000$33,680
95$209,00032.00%$44,000$47,760
106$524,00035.00%$315,000$158,010
117--37.00%--
Tax Brackets
Cell Formulas
RangeFormula
J5:J10J5=[@Top]-H4
K5:K10K5=K4+[@Width]*[@Rate]

Excel Facts

Can you AutoAverage in Excel?
There is a drop-down next to the AutoSum symbol. Open the drop-down to choose AVERAGE, COUNT, MAX, or MIN
What about for
J5:
Excel Formula:
=[@Top]-OFFSET([@Top],-1,0)
K5:
Excel Formula:
=OFFSET([@[Cum Tax]],-1,0)+[@Width]*[@Rate]

Upvote 0
Solution
What about for
J5:
Excel Formula:
=[@Top]-OFFSET([@Top],-1,0)
K5:
Excel Formula:
=OFFSET([@[Cum Tax]],-1,0)+[@Width]*[@Rate]

That's what I used to do before you guys turned me onto tables. Now I can't live without 'em. ??

I was hoping that M$FT had built in a better offset syntax. (sigh) But then, I've been wanting a better offset syntax for all of Excel, something like,
Code:
=[@Top]-[@Top](-1,0)
=[@[Cum Tax]](-1,0)+[@Width]*[@Rate]

The offset syntax should be built into the language, not cobbled on afterwards with the Offset function. ?

Thanks

Upvote 0
I was hoping that M$FT had built in a better offset syntax. (sigh) But then, I've been wanting a better offset syntax for all of Excel, something like,
Code:
=[@Top]-[@Top](-1,0)
=[@[Cum Tax]](-1,0)+[@Width]*[@Rate]