Is there a way to capture the date/time group for query refresh?

Mr_Phil

Board Regular
Office Version
  1. 365
Hi, I am still stumbling with PQ so it is ok to laugh at the question ;)

I click on Data > Refresh All to update a fairly large workbook. Today it appears that not all the queries refreshed. So I want to add a cell or column or something to the query to show me when it last refreshed. That way I can watch for it and if something is broken I at least have a start point. I did a generic google search and found a couple of VBA MACROS that I can make work. But, since I am studying PQ I would really be happy if the solution is something new to me in PQ. Any advice appreciated and thank you for taking time to read this question.

Excel Facts

Can a formula spear through sheets?
Use =SUM(January:December!E7) to sum E7 on all of the sheets from January through December
Go to tab Data --> Queries and Connections --> hoover over your specific table. It shows a last refreshed field

Upvote 0
Solution
Go to tab Data --> Queries and Connections --> hoover over your specific table. It shows a last refreshed field
Thanks. Is there a way to capture that data in a cell? It would be perfect if I could label a cell on each tab and the date and time refreshed was populated.

Upvote 0

I did like you said and was contemplating how to get the information into the table or "on the page". I googled refresh, table, query, date and a few others and landed on this video in youtube.

I liked it except that the first solution didn't tell me when any other queries were updated. But, I learned the correct syntax to get the local date and time.

Then, during the video I noted the add columns tab. So I added a custom column and used the DateTime.LocalNow() statement. So I have another column in the query and every cell is populated with the most recent refresh. It aint pretty, but the next time it acts up I can look at each query and see what did not do as expected.