Linked Sheet Formula

BeerBeer101

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
I'll do my best to explain and provide a little picture (Sorry, unable to install XL2BB) to show:
1678490938548.png

I have a master sheet (shown) and it links to external sources. When I add or remove a rep, I need to reset the links. with 8 Reps and 9 linked sheets, it works out to HUNDREDS of links that need to be reset (luckily only once per year). The other issue is my Master sheet goes accross and my data sheets go down (it's the way they export - cannot change that).

Is there a way to automate the formula in C2, C3 onward to Change $3 to $4, $5, or even by a jump of 2, 3, 4 or even more cells (it's a pattern) so I would only update the link in B2 and C2 onward would "fall into line"?

I have provided the bare bones here - of course the sheets are in various locations on network drives - but the basics are the same.
appreciate the help as always!

Edit:
Correction. C2, D2, E2 etc... advancing the cell down by 1, or even a set number.

Last edited by a moderator:

Excel Facts

Pivot Table Drill Down
Double-click any number in a pivot table to create a new report showing all detail rows that make up that number
Hi,
You could test, for cell B2
Excel Formula:
=INDIRECT("'[Rep 1.xlsx]Sheet1'!$B$"&COLUMN()+1)

Upvote 0
Hi,
You could test, for cell B2
Excel Formula:
=INDIRECT("'[Rep 1.xlsx]Sheet1'!$B$"&COLUMN()+1)
that works briefly while the sheets are open, however the source in the formula did not update so I get an #href (looking for '[Rep 1.xlsx] without the full address).
I guess what I also don't see is any sort of starter reference - the starter reference I would be looking for is of course B2 in my master sheet rather then depending on the source sheet.

Upvote 0
Hi again,
Not sure to fully understand ...
But if your idea is to store the names in a hard-coded way, you can always Copy - Paste Values ...

Upvote 0
Hi again,
Not sure to fully understand ...