Lookupvalue function in PowerPivot

NairbNam

Hi Guys,

I'm working in PowerPivot 2013 and need some help.

I have a large table of transactional customer data (ordered by transaction date) that includes a number of different fields. Based on my years of data I want to determine if a certain characteristic 'HasCharacteristic' is met by a customer IE if([HasCharacteristic]=1,....,....).

If the characteristic is returned 'True' I want to us a unique 'CustomerID' field to look up the earliest date in this customer's history that this the 'HasCharacteristic' was satisfied as true. If 'False' I will return another date field 'AlternateDate'.

In excel this is a fairly straightforward task but I'm new to powerpivot and not sure how to attain the desired result within a calculated column. Am I asking too much of powerpivot?

Thanks!

Excel Facts

Add Bullets to Range
Select range. Press Ctrl+1. On Number tab, choose Custom. Type Alt+7 then space then @ sign (using 7 on numeric keypad)
No, you are not asking too much of PowerPivot... at all. Likely this will be easier here than traditional excel, and certainly more portable/reusable.

When you say "customer's history" is that coming from a separate table... or is all this work just in 1 table?

As always, it's much easier to help if we can see a bit of sample data, or even better... share the workbook (dropbox/googledrive/whatever).

Upvote 0
Hi Scott,

It's all in a single table in PowerPivot and the columns I am interested in are:

CustID, ReportDate, IsProvisioned, OrderStartDate

So here's what I'm trying to do, if IsProvisioned = 1 then I want to look up the first ReportDate that this is true (IsProvisioned = 1) for based on the CustID, if it's false I want to use the OrderStartDate for this CustID.

Does that help to clarify at all?

If needed I can add a sample to GoogleDrive.

Thanks!

Upvote 0