Loop through PDF files in a folder and save data in Excel

L

Legacy 316613

Hi All,

I am a very amateur and green VBA coder but learning new tricks every day.

Here is a big project I have:

I have PDF documents saved in a specific folder and would like to have the VBA code to do the following:

1) Either access the particular folder automatically or allow me to paste the path of the folder in a particular cell, lets say particular folder is C:\pdf or path of folder is in cell A2
2) I would like the program to loop through each one of the PDF files and paste all the pages into a new workbook which we can call C:\pdf\ExcelData.xlsx or xlsm (whichever is relevant)
3) Once I have the data in Excel and I assume it will be a very big file (I have 100+ pdf's) I want the code to look through the entire file of "bad data" and pick out a specific 8 digit numeric field such as "12345678" and paste it into a worksheet called "Codes" as well as capture the original file name of the PDF - for example file name is PDF1.pdf and the numerical field is "12345678" I would like the code to capture the following in the "Codes" worksheet - Column A - pdf1.pdf and Column B - "12345678"
4) To add further complexities, there may be several numeric fields in the same original PDF file and hence I would like to capture the following in the "Codes" worksheet:
Column A: pdf1.pdf Column B - 12345678
Column A: pdf1.pdf Column B - 23456789

etc...

I know this is asking for a lot but if I did this manually I would be looking at a minimum of 200-300 manhours and here is me hoping that you VBA experts can help me.

I would be using this code regularly and it will save me a lot of time and could lead to a promotion :)

Plz help!!

Hi Macropod,

UPDATE