Macro formula to find value in a column and if that criteria is met add specific values in others cells in that referenced column

Lowbob131

Office Version
  1. 365
Hello,

I am relatively new to VBA so excuse my ignorance. I would like to create a macro that looks in a column (AC) in each cell and finds if that cells contains a specific value ("ECP") within a larger text (e.g. "WEWEV12321 ECP!"312v").

In that case, if that cell in column AC contains that value (for example cell AC5100), I want to add the text "Valid" in cell D5100 and the text "Correct" in cell E5100.
So for every cell in column AC where that value ("ECP") is contained, I want to add the text "Valid" and "Correct" in that same row in columns D and E.

Could someone please help me with that macro code should be. Much appreciated!

Excel Facts

Why are there 1,048,576 rows in Excel?
The Excel team increased the size of the grid in 2007. There are 2^20 rows and 2^14 columns for a total of 17 billion cells.
Yes that is correct. If the condition is met in AC Column, we would add the text “Valid” in column D and “Correct” in column E in that same row the condition is met.

I have a long spreadsheet with 10,000 lines where I need to run that macro line by line to see if that condition is met

Please let me know if anything is unclear

Thank you very much!

Upvote 0
Try this:
VBA Code:
Sub Check_Column_Ac()
'Modified 2/3/2022  3:33:09 PM  EST
Application.ScreenUpdating = False
Dim i As Long
Dim Lastrow As Long
Lastrow = Cells(Rows.Count, "AC").End(xlUp).Row

For i = 1 To Lastrow
    If InStr(Cells(i, "AC"), "ECP") Then
        Cells(i, "D").Value = "Valid"
        Cells(i, "E").Value = "Correct"
    End If

Next
Application.ScreenUpdating = True
End Sub

Upvote 0
Try this:
VBA Code:
Sub Check_Column_Ac()
'Modified 2/3/2022  3:33:09 PM  EST
Dim i As Long
Dim Lastrow As Long

For i = 1 To Lastrow
    If InStr(Cells(i, "AC"), "ECP") Then
    End If

Next
End Sub
This looks to be working, thanks a lot !