Macro help - Compare random numers and add

Ellias_Adelle

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hello,

I'm pretty new to working with macros, so I hope I'm sorry if this seems easy to you. It has been stumping me for days and I can't figure it out no matter how much research I do.

What I am trying to do is compare a random number between 1 and 100 (no decimals) to a value in a cell and if that value is above that number I want to permanently add a random number (no decimals) between 1 and 10 to that number.

For example, if the value is 70 I would like the macro to add a random number between 1 and 10 to it 30 percent of the time. Let's say the macro increases the number to 76. If activated again I want it to have a 24 percent chance of increasing the number again.

If there is an easier way to do this than creating a random number and comparing it to the value I'm fine with that. I so long as the results are the same.

I don't want to have a value for the random numbers be posted in the workbook.

Excel Facts

How can you automate Excel?
Press Alt+F11 from Windows Excel to open the Visual Basic for Applications (VBA) editor.
Hi, so i sort of follow what you are trying to do. I think.

But maybe not.

Because it looks like you want to simply use the 1 evolving number, but you said random number.

anyway, the below may help

VBA Code:
Sub random()
Range("b1") = ""
Randomize
random100 = Int((100 - 1 + 1) * Rnd + 1) 'generate random number between 1-100
    If random100 > Range("a1") Then 'checks to see if the random number above is mare than cell a1
        my_percentage = 100 - random100 'works out what percentage of the time to increase the number by
        Randomize
        random_decision = Int((100 - 1 + 1) * Rnd + 1) 'picks another number between 1-100
            If random_decision <= my_percentage Then 'check to see if the new random number is less than or = to percentage
                Randomize