Making a cell flash

steelers777

New Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2006
Messages
16
If I have text typed into a cell how do I make it flash? Also, if I have a score that is calculated in cells how do I make the winners name turn a different color (red)?

For example,

Sam 35 Kenny 43

I have made the excel document where the point totals will combine the scores or points from previous pages and total them on the last page. However, I would like the persons name with the highest point total to turn their name a different color than black (red).

Thanks for your help!
 

Excel Facts

Which came first: VisiCalc or Lotus 1-2-3?
Dan Bricklin and Bob Frankston debuted VisiCalc in 1979 as a Visible Calculator. Lotus 1-2-3 debuted in the early 1980's, from Mitch Kapor.

steelers777

New Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2006
Messages
16
One more question. How would I change the color of the text from black to red for the person that had the highest point total.

Example

Scott 35 Chris 43

How would I get the cell with Chris name to change from black text to red text automatically because he had the highest points?
 

VoG

Legend
Joined
Jun 19, 2002
Messages
63,650
Have a look at Conditional Formatting in Help.

Say your scores are in A2 to F2.

In A2 Format > Conditional formatting. In the first dropdown select Formula Is. In the Formula box enter

=A2=MAX($A2:$F2)

apply the formatting and OK your way out. Then click on the Format Painter (paintbrush icon) then select B2:F2 to apply the formatting to all the cells.
 

steelers777

New Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2006
Messages
16

ADVERTISEMENT

I typed the text in the cell. Then I went under FORMAT then CONDITIONAL FORMATING then went uder FORMULA IS. Then I typed:

=MOD(SECOND(NOW()),2)=1

But the text is still not flashing. Did I do something wrong?
 

VoG

Legend
Joined
Jun 19, 2002
Messages
63,650

ADVERTISEMENT

ALT + F11 to open the Visual Basic Editor. Insert > Module. Copy the following code and paste it into the module.

Code:
Dim NextTime As Date
Sub RepeatOneSec()
    ActiveWorkbook.Styles("normal").NumberFormat = _
        ActiveWorkbook.Styles("normal").NumberFormat
    NextTime = Now() + TimeSerial(0, 0, 1)
    Application.OnTime NextTime, "RepeatOneSec"
    End Sub
Sub EndProcess()
    Application.OnTime NextTime, "RepeatOneSec", , False
End Sub

close the VBE window. Tools > Macro > Macros, click on RepeatOneSec and press the Run button. To stop tghe flashing run EndProcess.
 

steelers777

New Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2006
Messages
16
Ok, I did all that and now it says:

Run-time error '1004':
Unable to set the NumberFormat property of the Style class
 

VoG

Legend
Joined
Jun 19, 2002
Messages
63,650
Try replacing

ActiveWorkbook.Styles("normal").NumberFormat = _
ActiveWorkbook.Styles("normal").NumberFormat

with

Application.Calculate
 

steelers777

New Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2006
Messages
16
ok, I was able to do all that and it looked like it accepted it because nothing popped on the screen but the text isn't flashing though. Sorry to be a pain.
 

Forum statistics

Threads
1,137,341
Messages
5,680,922
Members
419,945
Latest member
Carrie Sellers

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top