Making conditional formatting recognize more than one entry

SSG T

New Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2004
Messages
27
:rolleyes:

This is probably a very simple thing to do but I can't seem to get it to work.
I need to set up conditional formatting to color a range of cells if certain words are entered. I need to put more than one word in each condition but can't seem to figure it out. i.e. if i want that words DISCHARGE & PROFILE to both highlight green how do i write the formula so they can be entered in a single conditional formatting block?

:oops:
 

Some videos you may like

Excel Facts

Copy PDF to Excel
Select data in PDF. Paste to Microsoft Word. Copy from Word and paste to Excel.

lenze

Legend
Joined
Feb 18, 2002
Messages
13,690
Re: Making conditional formatting recognize more than one en

Formula Is

=A1=OR("DISCHARGE","PROFILE")
 

Iridium

Well-known Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2002
Messages
2,831
Re: Making conditional formatting recognize more than one en

lenze said:
Formula Is

=A1=OR("DISCHARGE","PROFILE")

I'm working along the same lines but can't get that to work???
 

SSG T

New Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2004
Messages
27
Re: Making conditional formatting recognize more than one en

I tried this formula modeled after the one posted above but it's not working

FORMULA IS
=A3:A92=OR("DISCHARGE","PROFILE")

Is this right?
 

SSG T

New Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2004
Messages
27

ADVERTISEMENT

Re: Making conditional formatting recognize more than one en

i tried this formula on cell A5 & that didn't work either.

FORMULA IS

=A5=OR("DISCHARGE","PROFILE")

Anyone else have any ideas?

:unsure:
 

GorD

Well-known Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2004
Messages
1,446
Re: Making conditional formatting recognize more than one en

Try this (change other to your term)


=OR($B$2="discharge", $B$2="other")
 

SSG T

New Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2004
Messages
27

ADVERTISEMENT

Re: Making conditional formatting recognize more than one en

Thanks GorD, that worked great, is there a way to get that to work for a range of cells or do I have to set each cell up seperately?
 

GorD

Well-known Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2004
Messages
1,446
Re: Making conditional formatting recognize more than one en

Once you've set it up for one cell (lock cells as required ) and then just use the format painter (paint brush) and paint over the cells you want to format
 

SSG T

New Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2004
Messages
27
Re: Making conditional formatting recognize more than one en

OK, that works, but... it paints the "target" cell as the original one you formatted.

ie

=OR($A$3="DISCHARGE",$A$3="PROFILE")

works great in cell A3 but the formula reads the same in cell A4,A5, etc, and therefore reads cell A3 to check the conditions.

Is there just not an easy way to do this for a range of cells?
 

GorD

Well-known Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2004
Messages
1,446
Re: Making conditional formatting recognize more than one en

Remove the appropriate dollar signs from the ranges in the conditional format formula first.
 

Watch MrExcel Video

Forum statistics

Threads
1,122,519
Messages
5,596,635
Members
414,083
Latest member
Mrsash

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top