manualmade macro's

Sandert

New Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2006
Messages
3
In former Excel releases it was possible to write macro's by hand, f.i.:
If I wanted Excel to wait until I wrote a date followed by an <ENTER> then Excel went 1 cell to the right, wrote down Payed, waited until I wrote down what had to be paid (1 bottle of whiskey) followed by an <ENTER> then went 2 cells to the right, waited until I wrote down the amount (15,75) followed by an <ENTER> then went 1 cell down and then 3 cells to the left (the cursor is on cell A4 now enabling me to do the following item)

A B C D
1 date: description: amount:
2
3 Okt 14 Payed 1 bottle of whiskey €15,75
4
5
6
7

I wrote the following macro for that:

{?}{R}Payed{?}~{R 2}{?}{D}{L 3}

I could start the macro with <CONTROL> + B for instance.

Now, in the new releases of Excel these macro's don't work anymore.
How can I get to the same result now? (a macrorecording does not help because it allways wants to start in the same cell (from where it was recorded))

Can anyone help me with this?

Sandert
 

Excel Facts

Save Often
If you start asking yourself if now is a good time to save your Excel workbook, the answer is Yes

Norie

Well-known Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2004
Messages
76,303
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Sandert

Are you sure that was Excel?

This looks to me more like Lotus script.

{?}{R}Payed{?}~{R 2}{?}{D}{L 3}
 

Sandert

New Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2006
Messages
3
handmade macro's

Yes, you are right, I made these macro's formerly in Lotus 123 but they worked perfectly in Excel. I could even continue making these kinds of macro's in Excel.
I understood that handmade macro's nowadays can only be created in Visual Basic but in my opinion that's very complicated and not very "userfriendly"...

Sandert
 

Sandert

New Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2006
Messages
3
But isn't there a way to converse these macro's f.i. into Visual Basic ones?
Greetings,
Sandert
 

larrydunn

Board Regular
Joined
Jun 1, 2003
Messages
130
You can click on the relative reference button to avoid having Excel go to the absolute cells you have clicked on.

But to get Excel to wait for input and such, I think you will have to use at least a little bit of VBA coding. (It's not that hard; even I can do it.)
 

Smitty

Legend
Joined
May 15, 2003
Messages
29,536
Welcome to the Board!

Check out: http://j-walk.com/ss/excel/faqs/xl95faq1.htm

You're better off learning VBA as that keystroke macro architecture is beyond obsolete, and if you're distributing any of your work you'll be shooting yourself & your users in the foot...

As Larry mentioned, VBA ain't that tough. ;)

In your case it looks like you're wanting something to control screen navigation? (Sorry, I'm way rusty on Lotus macros).

Smitty
 

Forum statistics

Threads
1,141,596
Messages
5,707,300
Members
421,502
Latest member
PULBAG

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top