Maximum Number of Macros?

dlanden

New Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2006
Messages
36
Probably a simple question, but is there a limited number of Macros that can be run in a single workbook? Thanks for your help.
 

Excel Facts

Convert text numbers to real numbers
Select a column containing text numbers. Press Alt+D E F to quickly convert text to numbers. Faster than "Convert to Number"

Norie

Well-known Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2004
Messages
76,357
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Not that I know of.:)

There are limitations on the length of code but that can normally be overcome by streamlining/tidying the code.
 

Smitty

Legend
Joined
May 15, 2003
Messages
29,536
I haven't run into that one before (or even needed to ask the question), but I'd imagine that's entirely dependent on what your system can handle efficiently.

E.G. the only limitation to the number of wb's you can have is your system's available memory.

Now you will bug out if a particular sub is too long, but that's usually only encountered with really inefficient code (lots of selects and navigation from recorded code'll do it).

Smitty
 

dlanden

New Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2006
Messages
36
Thanks a lot for your help. The reason I asked is that I have macros that run macros if that makes any sense. Thanks again.
 

Norie

Well-known Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2004
Messages
76,357
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Of course it makes sense, that's standard practice.:)

But we can't really give more advice without more information.:)
 

Bob Rooney

Board Regular
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
169
I just ran a personal use add-in through Rob Bovey's Code Documenter. I have 876 Subs or UDFs and nearly 23K lines of code.

The add-in is around 4 MB. Workbooks with a lot of data can get far larger, so I don't think I am anywhere near any limits (Excel 2003).

Are you noticing any problem with your code? Is it something general which prompted your question, or can you pinpoint a specific procedure which may be causing the problem?
 

dlanden

New Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2006
Messages
36
To Bob Rooney:
I am not experiencing any problems or a slow system I just wanted to make sure I wasn't going to crash my workbook! I actually only have twelve macors in the workbook but one time I wrote a macro that was so long that it actually wouldn't run :x . That is when I came up with the idea of having a macro run a macro.
Dave
 

Forum statistics

Threads
1,181,364
Messages
5,929,544
Members
436,677
Latest member
CathalP1992

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top