multiple open workbooks' data copy and paste to one workbook based on reference match

autumnK

hello. I am new to this forum as much as I am new to Excel VBA.

Basically, I am trying to do copy and paste data range to 'already formatted excel file with lots of tabs'. I could do this with manually but problem is this is really time consuming and tedious job. When I export excel data files from a certain program, I have lots of series of new workbooks with only sheet1 has data in it. (eg. book1~book 12, each book has 3sheets, but only "sheet1" has a data stored).

Formatted excel file (A.K.A reporting file) already created tabs with names, and based on the data I paste, it connected with other formulas and graphs as well.

I want to reference check with both Template ID("D9") and Projection Name("D6") from all extracted data with reporting excel file. If the data has same Template ID and Projection Name, then I would like to copy Range "B2:fg373" and paste in the matching reference tab.

Please help me how to start, I only know how to select range, copy and paste, but this one needs to right directory, which where it needs to be selected, copied, and pasted.

Thanks for your help.

Anything would be good for me to start.

Autumn

Excel Facts

Select all contiguous cells
Pressing Ctrl+* (asterisk) will select the "current region" - all contiguous cells in all directions.
Autumn,

Welcome to the Board.

The following might get you started...

Code:
Sub AnotherMaster()
Application.ScreenUpdating = False
Dim wb As Workbook, wb2 As Workbook
Dim FolderName As String, fileName As String
Dim i As Long, NextRow As Long

''''Select folder that contains files
With Application.FileDialog(msoFileDialogFolderPicker)
  .AllowMultiSelect = False
  If .Show = 0 Then Exit Sub
  FolderName = .SelectedItems(1) & "\"
End With

Set wb = ThisWorkbook 'workbook with this macro
fileName = Dir(FolderName & "*.xls?")

''''Loop through files
Do While fileName <> ""