naming a formula problem

Kade

Active Member
Joined
Jul 20, 2002
Messages
258
hello
when I name a formula (insert/name/define) then I build the formula it remembers it as absolute references.

eg if I am in A3 and I name a formula addthese then build =A1+A2 it creates this text
='Sheet1'!$A$1+'Sheet1'!$B$1

At the moment I have to then edit the text to remove the $ signs.

can I automatically make the reeference relative?

thanks kd
 

Excel Facts

Did you know Excel offers Filter by Selection?
Add the AutoFilter icon to the Quick Access Toolbar. Select a cell containing Apple, click AutoFilter, and you will get all rows with Apple

Mark W.

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Feb 10, 2002
Messages
11,654
No, but you can select the formula in the Refers to field and press F4 3 times to remove all dollar signs.
 

Aladin Akyurek

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Feb 14, 2002
Messages
85,209
On 2002-10-15 17:41, Kade wrote:
hello
when I name a formula (insert/name/define) then I build the formula it remembers it as absolute references.

eg if I am in A3 and I name a formula addthese then build =A1+A2 it creates this text
='Sheet1'!$A$1+'Sheet1'!$B$1

At the moment I have to then edit the text to remove the $ signs.

can I automatically make the reeference relative?

thanks kd

I'd change its def to:

=SUM(!A1:B1)
 

Mark W.

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Feb 10, 2002
Messages
11,654
kd's method allows for point and click formula entry... which is fine for a small set of cells.
 

Aladin Akyurek

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Feb 14, 2002
Messages
85,209

ADVERTISEMENT

On 2002-10-15 17:53, Mark W. wrote:
kd's method allows for point and click formula entry... which is fine for a small set of cells.

Just a cautious approach... A named formula like this can be applied to any horizontal two-cell range where a "" can be available.
This message was edited by Aladin Akyurek on 2002-10-15 17:59
 

Kade

Active Member
Joined
Jul 20, 2002
Messages
258
Thanks guys,

the F4 will do fine.

Aladin, I don't understand you comment "" what do u mean by this?. Also I agree the sum formula is better but I only used the two cell summation as a simple example

by kd
 

Aladin Akyurek

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Feb 14, 2002
Messages
85,209
On 2002-10-15 23:41, Kade wrote:
Thanks guys,

the F4 will do fine.

Aladin, I don't understand you comment "" what do u mean by this?. Also I agree the sum formula is better but I only used the two cell summation as a simple example

by kd


A formula generated blank.

In A1 enter: 7

In B1 enter:

=IF(E1,F1/E1,"") which generates a blank.

In C1 enter:

=A1+B1

and observe the result.
 

Mark W.

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Feb 10, 2002
Messages
11,654
Of course, =IF(E1,F1/E1,0) could be used instead, and B1 could be formatted as...

0;-0;
 

Forum statistics

Threads
1,143,707
Messages
5,720,386
Members
422,282
Latest member
psunith

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top