Need to be able to enter data in a blank cell but not allow anyone to delete the data once entered

phimaya

Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2019
Platform
  1. Windows
  2. MacOS
I am fairly new to Excel. I need to create cells where anyone can enter data into a blank cell but not be able to delete the data once entered. Ideally the only function I would like is to allow the user to be able to perform a strike through once data is entered.

Excel Facts

Highlight Duplicates
Home, Conditional Formatting, Highlight Cells, Duplicate records, OK to add pink formatting to any duplicates in selected range.
Which blank cells?

I would make a spreadsheet with the the days of the month vertically. I want to be able to allow anyone to enter their name in a cell on any given day. But once it is entered - it cannot be deleted. I would like to allow people to Strike through their name once it is entered but not to be able to delete their name.

Thanks
Paul

Upvote 0
I need to know the addresses of the blank cells that you want to protect. For example, all of column B or B2 to B100.

Upvote 0
All cells in the spreadsheet.

The spreadsheet with only have one row for each day of the month therefore it will have 28,29,30 or 31 rows depending on the month. The columns would be limitless but would probably never need to go past 35 columns.

Upvote 0
I'm assuming that your dates are in column A. Start by unprotecting all the cells starting with column B until the last used column to the right. Copy and paste this macro into the worksheet code module. Do the following: right click the tab name for your sheet and click 'View Code'. Paste the macro into the empty code window that opens up. The sheet will be protected with a password. Change the password (in red) in the code to a password of your choosing. Close the code window to return to your sheet. Enter data in any blank cell and press the RETURN key.
Rich (BB code):
Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)