Nested IF, AND Functions Limit Reached. Are there any alternatives?

stannard3

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi,

I am new to Excel. I have been creating a formula combining the IF,AND functions and have just found out that there is a limit to the number of nested formulas.
I still have a lot of criteria to enter so are there any alternatives I can use?

I have attached a screenshot of where I am currently at in a particular cell and seem to have reached a limit. I am new to this so I'm sure there would have been a better way of doing this.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!

Attachments

• Excel Formula.png
    Excel Formula.png
    125.4 KB · Views: 21

Excel Facts

How can you automate Excel?
Press Alt+F11 from Windows Excel to open the Visual Basic for Applications (VBA) editor.
how many versions are there
group all the results together - so all 2's and 3's
then use a AND() and OR() together

so for 2 you have common things , so a true result only appears once -

like this - from what i can see this is all the 2's

IF( AND( A19="1 line base ", OR( B12 = "shaker", B12="Prestige", B12="chalreston") ) , 2 ,IF ( now group for the 3 , 4 5 6 etc

that would be a nested 8

maybe other ways - but its difficult to see images etc

Note: Images are difficult to see , and also requires that I input all the data myself, which is very time consuming.

A SMALL sample spreadsheet, around 10-20 rows, would help a lot here, with all sensitive data removed, and expected results mocked up and manually entered, with a few notes of explanation.

MrExcel has a tool called “XL2BB” that lets you post samples of your data and will allow us to copy/paste your sample data into our Excel spreadsheets, saving a lot of time.

You can also test to see if it works ok, in the "Test Here" forum.

OR if you cannot get XL2BB to work, or have restrictions on your PC , then put the sample spreadsheet onto a share