Newbie help for a good cause, please

jeremy466clark

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi there. I'm a relative newbie to Excel, and new to this forum, so forgive me if what I'm asking is easy for others. The more straight forward the answers, the easier for me please!!

I am doing voluntary work for a local food aid charity. We need to monitor every client who calls individually, whether they are first time clients (new) or return clients (existing), the number of "heads" in their household (adults, children, babies & pets), and the date of their visit. This will be recorded on Sheet 1 below. Straight forward enough so far.

I then need to summarise all of those numbers per day, per week, and per month, which I'm proposing on Sheet 2 below, and ideally, I want to fully automate this from the data entered on Sheet 1, and that's what I don't know how to do.

So what I need is.......If Column B on Sheet 1 shows N (for new), the figures in Columns C-H on Sheet 1, should be copied to Columns B-G on Sheet 2 under the correct date, based on the date entered in columns J onwards on Sheet 1. If Column B on Sheet 1 shows E (existing client), I need the figures in C-H on Sheet 1 copied to J-O on Sheet 2, again under the correct date, based on the date entered in columns J onwards on Sheet 1.

Just to complicate things further, the first time a client visits, they will obviously be shown as "N" for new, so I'd want their numbers copied to Columns B-G on Sheet 2, but if they call subsequently, they will become Existing (E) clients so any subsequent totals would need to be copied to J-O on Sheet 2.

I've tried to explain things as easily as possible. Hopefully, someone will be able to help

Thanks in advance

Jeremy
Screenshot (13).png
Screenshot (12).png

It seems that it's only carrying over data from one occurence of every date? For any date in 2023, there's only one client showing and their associated Household Heads on the Weekly Client Numbers tab.