Object doesn't support this property or method-selection.paste

Dustywrinklemen

Here is part of my code. I want it to select the value in the next column over if the original value meet the criteria.

Sub Macro1()
Range("d4").Select
Do
If Selection.Value < 13 Then
ActiveCell.Offset(0, -1).Select
Selection.Copy
Sheets("ela sgo").Select
Range("M1").Paste
Else
Selection.Offset(1, 0).Select
End If
Loop

End Sub

I am getting the error (object doesn't support this property or method) for Selection.paste

Probably an easy fix or something's wrong with the top part but I'm new to all this, help!

Excel Facts

Lock one reference in a formula
Need 1 part of a formula to always point to the same range? use $ signs: $V$2:$Z$99 will always point to V2:Z99, even after copying
try Range("M1").PasteSpecial
or
Code:
Sub Macro1()
Range("d4").Select
Do
   If Selection.Value < 13 Then
         ActiveCell.Offset(0, -1).Copy Sheets("ela sgo").Range("M1")
   Else
         Selection.Offset(1, 0).Select
   End If
Loop
End Sub

Last edited:
Upvote 0
Welcome to the board! :)

I don't think it's necessary to loop. You can use a filter to grab all values > 13 and then paste the adjoining range values to the destination in one hit.

Also, you paste operation would keep overwriting M1 in the "ela sgo" sheet, essentially leaving you with the last item only.

Perhaps;
Code:
Public Sub Demo()
    Dim rngToCheck As Excel.Range
    Dim rngCell As Excel.Range

With ActiveSheet
        'try to refer to the range explicitly rather than loop through EVERYTHING
        'include the label so that we can use AutoFilter method to grab all values in one hot
        Set rngToCheck = .Range("D3:D" & .Range("D" & .Rows.Count).End(xlUp).Row)
        .AutoFilterMode = False
    End With

'use AutoFilter to grab all values > 13 and then paste results in one hit
    With rngToCheck
        Call .AutoFilter(Field:=1, Criteria1:=">13")