Power Query to Retrieve Data from a Specific Sheet in an External Workbook

Trebor76

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi there,

I have two Excel named ranges each of which are only a single cell:

SrcFile (this contains the full path of the workbook that has the data I want to import), and
SrcSheet (this contains the sheet name from within SrcFile workbook I want to import)

I want to import the data from SrcSheet using Power Query and have come up with the following (I'm still learning so it may not be the most efficient way):

Power Query:
let
    strFullPath = Excel.CurrentWorkbook(){[Name="SrcFile]}[Content]{0}[Column1],
    strSheet = Excel.CurrentWorkbook(){[Name="SrcSheet]}[Content]{0}[Column1],
    Source = Excel.Workbook(File.Contents(strFullPath)),
        strSheetToQuery = Source{[Item=strSheet, Kind="Sheet"]}[Data]
in
    Source

But it just lists the sheets in the external workbook. What I am missing to return the actual data?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks,

Robert

Last edited by a moderator:

Excel Facts

Format cells as date
Select range and press Ctrl+Shift+3 to format cells as date. (Shift 3 is the # sign which sort of looks like a small calendar).
The last line is currently Source in your code. It is supposed to be strSheetToQuery.
There are also missing quotes around the Name string values.
The corrected code is:

Power Query:
let
  strFullPath = Excel.CurrentWorkbook(){[Name="SrcFile"]}[Content]{0}[Column1],
  strSheet = Excel.CurrentWorkbook(){[Name="SrcSheet"]}[Content]{0}[Column1],
  Source = Excel.Workbook(File.Contents(strFullPath)),
in
  strSheetToQuery

Note: If you use the code wrappers to post your codes on the board, it would be easier to read and also spot syntax errors like the quotes above. Just select the code you paste in the editor, and click on the M icon on the editor (M for M code, VBA for VBA code, etc). I edited your post to use code tags, so you can see the difference.
Code tags: