PowerQuery Create Connection / Re-Use Query

GERALDRAHMAN

Hi All

I am new to Power Query. I would like to make use of It's automation functionalities. I have a PDF File that I need to convert to Excel format regularly. The formatting of the PDF is consistent/exactly the same, but the data varies. I have to Questions. Firstly, when I import the PDF File into PQuery, it "Opens" various queries/ or tables, although each table has different data, the "APPLIED STEPS" are the same for each Table, so if I carry out certain steps in Table 1, how can I apply the same steps to Table 2, without having to do exactly the same steps in Table 2 ? Secondly, Having done "all this" How can I save the "Template/Query/Connection, so that I merely need to import the File the next day/week and PQuery "remembers" the format, or applies all the steps to my current PDF file (whic has exactly same layout as initial PDF File on which I already performed Data Transformation etc....Thanks In advance.

Attachments

• PQUERY_WHY NO CONNECTIONS_AFTER LOAD TO.JPG
    PQUERY_WHY NO CONNECTIONS_AFTER LOAD TO.JPG
    22.6 KB · Views: 13

Excel Facts

Spell Check in Excel
Press F7 to start spell check in Excel. Be careful, by default, Excel does not check Capitalized Werds (whoops)
Hi

• My Excel version does not support PDF import, so I did it with Power BI.
  • You can add a new query by right clicking any column in Power Query and choosing “add as new query”.
  • The advanced editor holds the applied steps, written in M code, corresponding to that query, as shown below.
  • After creating a query, you can replace its code with another one, from another query. Copy and paste the steps from the desired query and manually adjust the file path and table identification.
  • The saved steps will be applied to whatever file and table you plug into the code, as long as the format is compatible.
navi.png

Power Query:
let