Pre-populating

greentom22

Hi

I'm trying to figure out the easiest way to pre-populate cells based on a selection in a central cell above.

When a user selects a certain number in a drop-down box in a cell, I would like that selection to be automatically inserted into the new cells as a default.

A further wrinkle would be that these defaults would be inserted only if a cell in that row has a number entered.

So: If A1 = 24% (selected from drop down box)
Then C3 = 24% (automatically selected from drop down box but can be changed)
Only if A3 = 1 and not empty (ie user has selected to use this row.)
If A3 is empty, then B3 is empty.

So far I've done the whole sheet without using VBA & macros (I'm a amateur at VBA) but I have a feeling I'll need to use VBA to get this done. So please, as simple as possible would be great.

Thanks
GreenTom

Excel Facts

What is =ROMAN(40) in Excel?
The Roman numeral for 40 is XL. Bill "MrExcel" Jelen's 40th book was called MrExcel XL.
Yes, this can be done, using VBA.

Right click on the Sheet tab name, select View Code, and paste this code in the resulting box:
Code:
Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)

If Target.Address = "$A$1" And Target <> 0 and Range("A3")=1 Then
        Range("C3") = Target
    End If

End Sub
Now, whenever a change is made to cell A1 (that enters a value in A1), cell C3 will automatically be updated.

Upvote 0
Re: Pre-populate

Thanks a bunch. That seems to work.

How do I increase the range from say C3 to include down to C8? I tried simply changeing to C3:C8 but I get a "Run Time Error '13' Type Mismatch." Then when I debug it highlights the Target Address section.

Also, can I effect the pre-populating so that C3 is populated only if A3 = value selected from a drop-down box in that cell?

Upvote 0
To populate C3:C8, this will work:
Code:

Dim cell As Range

If Target.Address = "$A$1" And Target <> 0 And Range("A3") = 1 Then
        For Each cell In Range("C3:C8")
            cell = Target