Previous quarter not working

grapevine

Board Regular
I am relatively new to DAX and want to write a formula to compare this quarter with last quarter. I did not have a calendar table to I created one using the 2016 New Date Table command and then linked the Date fields together. Hopefully this is correct.

The formulas I have written are as follows:
This quarter
Code:
=CALCULATE(sum([Profit]),dateadd('Calendar'[Date],0,QUARTER))

Previous quarter
Code:
=CALCULATE(sum([Profit]),DATEADD('Calendar'[Date],-1,QUARTER))

When I display the results on the screen it just gives me the total alongside the current year so something is not calculating correctly
eg
2016 PQ = 30
2016 CQ = 30
2017 PQ = 7.5
2017 CQ = 7.5
Total PQ = 37.50
Total CQ = 37.50

which means if I subtract current quarter from previous quarter I always end up with 0
Can someone please point me in the right direction
Many thanks

Excel Facts

Create a chart in one keystroke
Select the data and press Alt+F1 to insert a default chart. You can change the default chart to any chart type
What is the context that you are evaluating these in? What does your Date column look like and which quarter are you using?

Upvote 0
My date column in the original excel spreadsheet looks like this 31/03/2017, in the PowerPivot table it looks like 31/03/2017 00:00:00
In the calendar table I created from the Date Table Icon on the Design Tab in the PowerPivot window looks like 31/03/2017 00:00:00

The data sheet has a list of dates against which the cost of expenditure is recorded. I want to see whether the total spent of a client has gone up or down over the last quarter compared to the previous quarter and if possible I would like to be on a rolling three month so I don't have to do any intervention.

I hope this helps; if you want any more information please do let me know
Many thanks

Upvote 0
Sorry, I didn't really ask the right question.

Is the Calendar [Date] column a daily list of dates with no gaps?