Primary Selection an Option????

WorkinOnIt13

Board Regular
Joined
Sep 8, 2005
Messages
90
Ok if you select a cell with your mouse it basically highlights the cell as your selection, but in order to insert your cursor into that cell you have to double click. My questions is this, I am copying data from another format to Excel and it will not paste it unless my cursor is inserted in the cell, not just selected on the cell! Is there a way to automatically force the cell or cells to have the cursor insert on selection??? Hope this makes sense! Thanks!
 

Some videos you may like

Excel Facts

Excel Joke
Why can't spreadsheets drive cars? They crash too often!

WorkinOnIt13

Board Regular
Joined
Sep 8, 2005
Messages
90
Maybe I should have told you they are merged cells I am applying the copy to, and it gives me the Cannot paste to merged cells error... Maybe I should try and just make the one cell the same size as my merged area???
 

Zack Barresse

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Dec 9, 2003
Messages
10,881
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2010
Platform
  1. Windows
  2. Mobile
  3. Web
No, not in the literal sense that you are asking for. Another way to do this via keyboard is to hit F2. But I think the problem does not lie in Edit Mode (the name for such an action) but in the copy/paste method used. Can you explain your source data and the steps used to bring it into Excel?
 

Zack Barresse

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Dec 9, 2003
Messages
10,881
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2010
Platform
  1. Windows
  2. Mobile
  3. Web
WorkinOnIt13 said:
Maybe I should have told you they are merged cells I am applying the copy to, and it gives me the Cannot paste to merged cells error... Maybe I should try and just make the one cell the same size as my merged area???
Didn't see this before I posted. Do not use merged cells.

And please leave your posts in normal text. I edited your above posts to reflect the way you should post your text.
 

erik.van.geit

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Feb 1, 2003
Messages
17,832
Hi, WorkinOnIt13,

this looks imossible to me

since you want to paste:
select the cell you want to paste in and run code like this
Code:
Sub test()
ActiveSheet.Paste
End Sub
you can assign the macro to a button



automatic paste:
Code:
Private Sub Worksheet_SelectionChange(ByVal Target As Range)
If MsgBox("Paste here?", 292, "Title") = vbNo Then Exit Sub
ActiveSheet.Paste
End Sub
TO INSTALL IN SHEET CODE WINDOW:
1. right click the "Name Tab" of sheet you want code to work in
2. Select "View Code" in drop down menu
3. VBE window will open ... paste code in and exit VBE


kind regards,
Erik
 

erik.van.geit

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Feb 1, 2003
Messages
17,832
to late to edit my post
perhaps you wouldn't see it
for automatic paste the rightclick-event would be more userfriendly to my sense
Code:
Private Sub Worksheet_BeforeRightClick(ByVal Target As Range, Cancel As Boolean)
If MsgBox("Paste here?", 292, "Title") = vbNo Then Exit Sub
Cancel = True
ActiveSheet.Paste
End Sub
 

Watch MrExcel Video

Forum statistics

Threads
1,118,020
Messages
5,569,664
Members
412,286
Latest member
kychemist00
Top