Problem with copy sheet to new workbook - ended up with 1048576 rows

mkseto

I'm new to VBA.
I use the following macro to copy data from a sheet to a new workbook (then close the sheet without saving):

Sub Copy_To_New_Workbook()
Sheets("Reports").Copy
Workbooks("Template.xlsm").Close SaveChanges:=False
End Sub

I hope someone can help with the following:
1) When the data is pasted to the new workbook, it has 1048576 rows despite there are only a few hundred rows with data. Is there a way to modify my macro above so that the new workbook would only contain rows with data?
2) How can I modify the above code so that I don't have to refer to the file name ("Template.xlsm") to close it?

Hope someone can help with these silly questions (again, I'm only starting to learn VBA).

Excel Facts

Get help while writing formula
Click the italics "fx" icon to the left of the formula bar to open the Functions Arguments dialog. Help is displayed for each argument.
If you have formatted the ENTIRE columns, it may try to copy the whole column.
Is all your data contiguous? If so, it may be better to your the Current Region to select/copy just your data.

If you run this code, does it select all your data?
VBA Code:
Sub Test()
    Sheets("Reports").Select
    Range("A1").CurrentRegion.Select
End Sub

If so, then you should be able to use Range("A1").CurrentRegion.Copy to just select the range you want to copy.

Upvote 0
If you have formatted the ENTIRE columns, it may try to copy the whole column.
Is all your data contiguous? If so, it may be better to your the Current Region to select/copy just your data.

If you run this code, does it select all your data?
VBA Code:
Sub Test()
    Sheets("Reports").Select
    Range("A1").CurrentRegion.Select
End Sub

If so, then you should be able to use Range("A1").CurrentRegion.Copy to just select the range you want to copy.
Unfortunately, it didn't work for me. I ended up with just the Excel "blank" screen with NO worksheet.

Upvote 0