Replacing Data Macro

kyter21

I have a monthly report with over 2,000 entries per column and it is dynamic (number changes monthly). I'm trying to replace individual department names with "department" but keep certain ones the same. For instance- A,B,C,D stay the same but E-Z need to be changed to "department". I first coded an If then macro but was unable to get it to loop and after researching looping realized that it may not be the best option especially with large datasets. Is an advanced filter macro the best option where I filter NOT A,B,C,D and then change the results to department? Or are there other suggestions?

I'm very new to macros (first day) with no programming experience at all. Thanks in advance!

Excel Facts

Excel Can Read to You
Customize Quick Access Toolbar. From All Commands, add Speak Cells or Speak Cells on Enter to QAT. Select cells. Press Speak Cells.
hi kyter21,

Welcome to the MrExcel board, and hope that your problem is adequately addressed.

To get a clearly focussed answer it's a good idea to be as specific as possible about your problem. Often posting a shot of a sample worksheet is more informative than verbal descriptions. (There's plenty of instructions on the board about how to post such screenshots).

From reading your post I can't really see just what it is that you are looking for ...

Upvote 0
In Column G (2000+ entries), I need to change Dept E, Dept F, Dept G...to just Department and keep Dept A, Dept B, Dept C, Dept D the same. I hope this helps.

Upvote 0
Hi Kyter,

If it is not strictly necessary to do that with a macro then you can enter the following formula in column H and fill down to the end. Then you can copy the contents of column H and PasteSpecial/Values onto columnG.

Formula is:

=IF(OR(G1="Dept A",G1="Dept B",G1="Dept C", G1="Dept D"),G1,"Department")

Hope that works.

Upvote 0
kyter21,

if you do want a macro, you can try this
Code:
Sub test()
Dim lstrow As Long