Replacing variable/column prefixes and suffixes

iotapsi321

Hi, everyone. This is such a wonderful resource, glad I was able to find it. I am a beginner to excel so this may be an easy question for most of you. I have hundreds of variables that need to be renamed. Each variable has a prefix and a suffix. The variables are sequentially ordered in batches according to their keycode, but the variables are randomly ordered according to their suffixes. For instance, a variable named xaa.100 in column A1 needs to be renamed to time1_age. A more thorough example is provided below. There are 35 unique prefixes, and unique10 suffixes, so a simple find and replace all would take quite a bit of time. Is there a formula that can tackle this problem more efficiently? Thank you in advance for your help!

FROM

xaa.100xaa.101xaa.102bzb.101bzb.102bzb.100nrf.102nrf.100nrf.101

TO

time1.agetime1.gendertime1.racetime2.gendertime2.racetime2.agetime2.racetime2.agetime2.gender

Excel Facts

Excel Can Read to You
Customize Quick Access Toolbar. From All Commands, add Speak Cells or Speak Cells on Enter to QAT. Select cells. Press Speak Cells.
This piece of code will do that to the active sheet when its run:

VBA Code:
arr = Array("xaa", "time1", "100", "age", "bzb", "time2", "101", "gender", "nrf", "time2", "102", "race")

With ActiveSheet.UsedRange
    For i = LBound(arr) To UBound(arr) - 1 Step 2
        .Replace arr(i), arr(i + 1)
    Next
End With

Upvote 0
Thanks. I’m a beginner so I just want to make sure I understand correctly. Do I just enter this code into any cell within the active sheet?

Upvote 0
To be clear are these constants in the cells or as the result of formulas?

Upvote 0