Search Column and If Cell has Text String In It Copy and Paste Data

jbenfrancis1

Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi, I have a master workbook and a macro that searches for a file name and opens it once found. The files being found all have a table in them with the left most column in column B but the start row changes from file to file. All files being found either have "Affiliation →" or "Line of Business →" in column b which is the start of the table.

I am trying to write a macro that will look at the active workbook and search column b for either "Affiliation → " or "Line of Business →". Once it finds the cell in column b with that text string, I want it to ctrl+shift+down and ctrl+shift+right to copy that cata. I can then finish the macro to activate my master book and paste data.

I tried this orignally but it lonly looks for "Affiliation" and doesnt account for speacial character arrow

VBA Code:
Sub Copy()
Dim wb1 as Workbook
Dim wb2 as Workbook
wb1 = ThisWorkbook
wb2 = "Data.xlsx"
Dim AffCol As Range
Dim Aff As Range
Dim PasteCell As Range
Set AffCol = sb2.Sheet1.Range("B:B")
For Each Aff In AffCol
    If wb1.Sheet5.Range("A2") = "" Then
        Set PasteCell = wb1.Sheet5.Range("A2")
    Else
        Set PasteCell = ws1.Sheet5.Range("A1").End(xlDown).Offset(1, 0)
    End If
    If Aff = "Affiliation" Then Range(Aff.End(xlToBottom), Aff.End(xlToRight)).Copy PasteCell
Next Aff

End Sub

Excel Facts

Square and cube roots
The =SQRT(25) is a square root. For a cube root, use =125^(1/3). For a fourth root, use =625^(1/4).
To find if a cell value/string contains a particular string, maybe use Instr function? Like
If Instr(1,Aff, "Affiliation") > 0 Then
0 means not found, anything greater than 0 is the starting position of the string that was found.

Upvote 0
Solution
Another important thing to keep in mind when writing code.

NEVER use reserved words like "Copy" as the name of your procedures, functions, or variables.